Graduation Time

Around roughly 10am on Friday, December 11th, I walked across the stage with about 100 other students to receive my Associates Degree of Arts in Psychology.

FB_IMG_1449936717765

I believe that most people associate graduations with BIG achievements or even milestones. When I moved to Texas I noticed that every time you changed “levels” (for lack of a better word) there would be a graduation ceremony. For example Kindergarten to 1st grade would have one; 5th grade to 6th grade would have one; 8th grade to 9th grade would have one; and then of course  12th grade seniors would have the most anticipated graduation ceremony!

I don’t think there is anything wrong with these celebrations! We should let the children/young adults know we are proud of them for doing well in school.

So why is it as the time lead up to my graduation, this year, I lacked excitement!? Instead I compared myself to others who were receiving their Bachelors Degree or even their Masters. I was really beating myself up because I have been in school about 4 years- just as long as someone receiving their Bachelors degree, yet I was not. I felt like I was so far behind and I was just receiving a consolation prize or something! I constantly belittled myself and felt like I had accomplished nothing. As I look back I was being very ungrateful; I can see that now.

I had to really look at everything I have been through while being enrolled in school; I had to consider changing my major right at the very end, working full time and becoming a mother during the Fall Semester last year (2014). I had to stop being so hard on myself! I am not trying to create excuses; I know there are people who have had to overcome more hardships than I could even imagine!

So yea, by now I expected to be enrolled in TJC’s Dental Hygiene program and working towards my Associates, possibly Bachelors (I knew that program was coming soon). But that is not the path I went down & instead of dwelling on what has not gone as I planned, I needed to realize how very blessed I am for having the opportunity to walk the stage and receive my Associate Degree! I have family and friends that have been supportive since day 1; after having my daughter the support continued! Not everyone has that type of support system and love!

I realized that Friday was the 1st step towards many more accomplishments. I have many more goals to achieve & I am sure that will come with obstacles. But it is all possible.

edited_Snapchat-1204950863559603402

Whats next for me?

Well, I plan to head over to the local University in my town to receive my Bachelors in Psychology. I start class on 01/18/16. I have not completely decided what I want to do in this field, but I am leaning towards forensic or counseling Psychology!

“Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway; we might just as well put that passing time to the best possible use.”

-Earl Nightingale

11 thoughts on “Graduation Time

  1. I’m glad you figured this out. Example – look at your Aunt Tika. Each step of the way has moved her up to new positions and better pay, even new jobs. She carries her Masters now and is talking about going for her doctrine. It all depends on what is in your heart and how badly you want it. So what if it takes some time? We are very proud of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: School Ramblings | The Journey

Leave a Reply

