Bad Mother of the Year Award…??? LOL

This week I experienced a moment of embarrassment. Embarrassment within myself.  It is my own fault and I am fully carrying the blame!  Many of you will look at this post and laugh, but I am writing this in all seriousness- well for the most part! 🙂

***

Personally I like just about all music; I am a big fan of R&B, but I also listen to a lot of Rap and Country music and there are occasional Rock and Pop songs I find enjoyable! There are a lot of songs (doesn’t matter the genre) that are not really appropriate for children to sing or even listen to. A lot of today’s music is based on relationships, heartbreak, money, drugs, sex, cars and more foolishness, yet we LOVE them so much. Growing up I thought that Rap music was the only genre that made this type of music..Rap music was the gateway music, LOL! But that’s not true at all!

For example: Luke Bryan’s song “Home Alone tonight”, I absolutely love the song and this song really is not explicit. But do you want your toddler/child singing, “Shot for shot for shot ’til we forgot what we came here to forget” or how about “Send it to my ex, I’ll send it to my ex and send ’em both a text. Saying we ain’t we ain’t going home alone tonight.” I sure know I do NOT! 9 times out of 10 your child will not even know what they are saying, but the point is, you do!

So what happened to me the other day did not make me feel like “Mommy of the Year!” 😦

 

Driving home, I turned the radio to one of the local Hip Hop/R&B stations and a song called “Say It” by Tory Lanez came on. This is a song that I really like, so I turn the music up a bit and start singing along. I soon noticed that I hear something that sounded like singing as well. My 15 month old child is in the backseat singing the hook “Youuuuuuu know, Youuuuuuu know, Youuuuuuu know!”

Yes it only 2 words: ‘You know’, there is no harm in that…. right? WRONG!

I just immediately cut the radio off!! I was in shock!

Now as I mentioned this is my own fault. Kenzy is very smart! Yes all parents say that about their babies, hehehe- Let them 🙂  But she has grasped on to her ABC’s very well & has learned many other songs from daycare, like Twinkle Little Star, Row your Boat & others. Also she is improving on her numbers & we are working more on her Spanish at home. So I knew her little mind grabbed onto songs pretty well! I guess I just didn’t think she heard the “other” music, my music enough to started learning the hooks!

Anywho, its is safe to say we no longer listen to the radio in the car. We now listen to one of Kenzy’s personalized CD’s full of fun kid songs! 🙂   YAYYYYY MEEE!   I am just going to keep saying YAYYYY MEEEE!!!

One of my co-workers did bring up a good point- what happens when she is with someone else and listening to their choice of music?

I though about it a bit. I know I can not shelter Kenzy from everything, especially music. So I am not going to try to!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bad Mother of the Year Award…??? LOL

  1. Yeah you know your tried of row row row your boat already 😉 Have you ever listened to K-Love? 88.7 FM it’s christian music station all up to date contemporary artists. I like the mornings best. Believe it or not listening to gospel and K-Love has helped me tremendously with my road rage 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have never heard of the station but we will probably try it out in the morning, because I am slightly loosing my mind with the CD- Kenzy LOVES it though. She sings along as much as she can!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

